oh what a funnny face

oh what a funnny face

This weekend was my 25th birthday, in fact it was even my golden birthday.  Annie and I were planning a pretty mellow day (that was a birthday request) and were going to go to the beach for some body-surfing, come back and grill something special (other than the inexpensive standards of pork chops or chicken) and finish the evening watching a movie and not staying up too late. Annie also encouraged me to try to make sure I spent Friday afternoon Body-surfing so I made sure I planned to go with one of our HS-ers, Brandon.

So Thursday morning I woke up and was tired, Annie told me  about how she wanted to go do some work at a coffee shop.  I bugged her a little bit about making sure we don’t spend too much time and money at coffee shops and she went off shortly after.  I spent the morning reading and studying, and around noon I was getting ready to go over to our lunchtime bible club at Kailua High School.  I went to the cottage to get my keys and when I stepped out our white neon pulled up.  Annie was there and it looked like somone else was in the front seat also.  I figured she saw someone at the coffee shop and gave them a ride to church.

She got out and I asked, “Is there someone in the car with you?”  She answered that yes there was and out of the car stepped my ‘little’ brother Kenn.  Who lives in Oregon.  Across the ocean.

It took my mind a couple moments to understand what was going on.  I hadn’t expected to see Kenn in a while, but there he was!  They let me know it was a surprise they planned out and that Kenn was spending my birthday weekend with us out here in HI.  It was totally one of the best surprises ever, and very sweet of the two of them to conspire to make it happen.  All in all Kenn and I went bodysurfing 3 times over the weekend and would have gone a fourth had the weather and waves not skunked us on the North Shore.

Sean and John, morning wake up

Sean and John, morning wake up

We had a great time hanging out together: cooking, making bread, making our own chocolate haupia pies, watching Friends and movies.  Saturday morning (the actual birthday) i was planning on sleeping in, and did, but woke up to my two friends, Sean and John at the foot of my bed singing Felice Cumpleanos a Ti (Happy Birthday in Spanish).  We went out to breakfast with another friend, Trey, and my brother-in-law Pat.  Another awesome surprise for the birthday weekend.

Gettin out of the water
Surfin' like champs

Surfin

Gettin out of the water

Thanks to all for the birthday wishes, for your friendships and generosity.  Love you guys and am excited to be 25 and not pay more for rental cars!!!!!!!

Pics to come…

