Wanted to post a link to a Rick Reilly story that gives a little hope.  This is hands down one of the best things I have read on the ol’ world wide web-er-net all year. In an age when youth sports have become ridiculously competitive and unsportsmanlike, this team act’s like a team who loves Jesus should (in reading the article, the fact that the school is Christian is really downplayed but look at the actions and then look at the name) .  Sports were such a big part of my own life I attribute them to many character qualities that I now possess.  I have never seen or heard of anything liked this, but I personally can picture a couple coaches who don’t sound too different from Coach Hogan that Reilly writes about.  I seem to remember Jesus saying something about taking care of orphans and widows and prisoners, the people that our cultures ignore.  This seems like a beautiful step in that direction.

H(at) T(ip) to Brian McLaren, on whose blog I found this, where he called it the best sports story of the year, and I couldn’t agree more

